1422 Elbridge Payne Road #250, Chesterfield, MO 63017
Phone: 217/251-3659; e-mail: editor@ruralmarketingnews.com

OutdoorHub.com reports:

The International Game Fish Association (IGFA) Hall of Fame features an exclusive list of fishing legends like Ernest Hemingway, Jimmy Houston, Bill Dance and many more. This coming September, five more fishing greats will join the list, including former U.S. President George H.W. Bush.

Elected unanimously by the IGFA Board of Trustees, the 2019 class will join 126 legendary anglers, scientists, conservationists, writers and fishing industry leaders whose contributions to sport fishing are forever preserved and celebrated in the IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame.

On Saturday, September 14, 2019, at Johnny Morris' Wonders of Wildlife National Museum and Aquarium, the 2019 IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take their honored places alongside fishing luminaries, including: Isaak Walton, Michael Lerner, Francesca LaMonte, Zane Grey, Mary Orvis Marbury, Ernest Hemingway, Ted Williams, Bill Dance, Mark Sosin, Lee and Joan Wulllf, Flip Pallot, Alfred C. Glassell Jr., Kip Farrington and Curt Gowdy.. just to name a few!

The IGFA noted several reasons for inducting the former President to the Hall of Fame. Bush was a passionate recreational angler who frequented Kennebunkport, Maine for striped bass and bluefish, and often chased bonefish on the flats off of Islamorada, Florida. He caught a 135-pound tarpon in the Florida Keys with guide George Wood and wrote the foreword to tarpon expert Andy Mill's book "A Passion for Tarpon."

During his presidency, Bush worked to establish 56 wildlife refuges in the U.S. and received the Bass Pro Shops Lifetime Conservation Achievement Award and the Keep America Fishing Award for his conservation efforts, including hhis key role in passing amendments to the Sportfish Restoration Act.

He was inducted into the Bass Fishing Hall of Fame in 2016.

George H.W. Bush passed away November 30, 2018. He was 94 years old.

Other inductees to the IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame 2019 class include world record holder and marine conservationist Terri Andrews, Robert Hayes, Dr. Julian Pepperrell and Yasuhiko Tsunemi.